Our Recent Production History

The 39 Steps

The Glass Menagerie
Guys and Dolls JR
Kiss Me, Kate

2015-2016 Season

Kiss Me, Kate

Kiss Me, Kate

Book by Sam and Bella Spewack
Music and lyrics by Cole Porter

May 6 & 7, 2016

Kiss Me, Kate is the uproarious backstage story of a troupe of actors trying to stage a flirtatiously funny musical adaptation of Shakespeare's battle of the sexes The Taming of the Shrew. When an egomaniacal actor-director stars opposite his Hollywood movie star ex-wife but flirts with a young cabaret star-turned "serious actress," sparks fly and tempers roar. But it's all's well that ends well with this bunch, as two eloquent gunmen hilariously remind us in the show-stopping "Brush Up Your Shakespeare."

"Brush up your Shakespeare. Start quoting him now. Brush up your Shakespeare, and the women you will wow. If she then wants an 'all-by-herself' night, let her rest every 'leventh or Twelf' Night. Brush up your Shakespeare and they'll all kow-tow."

In Shakespeare's original play, Petruchio (the man) "tames the shrew," his wife Katherine. He teaches her to obey her husband and show reverence to him. In the backstage story of Kiss Me, Kate, the Hollywood actress Lilli Vanessi (the woman) tames the man! Fred Graham allows himself to reveal his emotional vulnerability in his heart-breaking reprise of "So in Love." In the Finale, the combination of the two stories reveals the theme of this great musical. All relationships involve conflict and compromise, but as Shakespeare wrote in The Taming of the Shrew, "where two raging fires meet together, they do consume the thing that feeds their fury."

Lilli Vanessi is "So in Love" in this scene from Cole Porter's 1949 musical masterpiece Kiss Me, Kate.

Petruchio has "come to wive it wealthily in Padua" in this humorous scene from Kiss Me, Kate.

Guys and Dolls JR

Guys and Dolls JR

Book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows
Music and lyrics by Frank Loesser

February 24 & 25, 2016

One of the greatest musical comedies of all time, Guys and Dolls has delighted audiences since 1950 with its mixture of low-brow content and high-brow personality. In this specially adapted one-hour version, gambler Sky Masterson woos a mission doll named Sarah Brown in order to win a bet with a humorously shady gambler named Nathan Detroit. Although he's a world-traveling, sophisticated gambler, Sky surprises himself by falling in love with the mission doll. When she feels ambivalent about her attachment to a man of the streets, Sarah Brown teams up with "world-famous fiancee" Miss Adelaide. Together they hatch a plan to "marry the man today and change his ways...tomorrow." The cast and technicians were all students in grades six, seven, and eight. They learned a lot and had a great time performing in a specially constructed thrust stage.

The Glass Menagerie

The Glass Menagerie

By Tennessee Williams

November 5 & 6, 2015

Tennessee Williams' autobiographical play is an intensely personal, poetic drama about one man's attempt to overcome the guilt he feels for having pursued his own dreams at the expense of his sister's security. It is a classic American drama representative of mid-century confessional literature.

"The play is memory. Being a memory play, it is dimly lighted. It is sentimental. It is not realistic."

In keeping with the ideas expressed by Tom Wingfield as the Narrator of the play, our production design reflected a minimalist approach. It featured a "fire escape" not unlike a confessional in a church. When the play began and Tom's memories came to life, the spare, suggestive furniture was uncovered. The portieres parted. And Amanda's stern, maternal attention to her precious children could be heard in her admonitions about how to eat properly. A haunting drama about familial ties and personal passions, The Glass Menagerie remains of the great "quiet" plays in American theatre. Quiet, but powerful.